EUROGEO WORKSHOP 2023

LAND COVER CLASSIFICATION OF POLAND PERFORMED EVERY YEAR BASED ON SENTINEL-2

Stanisław Lewiński stlewinski @cbk.waw.pl

Marek Ruciński, Szymon Sala, Cezary Wojtkowski, Ewa Gromny, Małgorzata Jenerowicz-Sanikowska, Michał Krupiński



BOLZANO 2-4 OCTOBER 2023







European Commission



S2GLC – Sentinel-2 Global Land Cover

Phase I: 2016 – 2018 Phase II: extension 2018/2019



CBK PAN



IABG (Industrieanlagen Betriebsgesellschaft mbH)

EOXPLORE EOXPLORE



University of Jena









LC CLASSIFICATION – EUROPE 2017





Phase II: extension 2018/2019

CLASIFICATION 815 Setinel-2 tiles, 15 000 images



VALIDATION

51 926 points spread randomly over 55 tiles

OA: 13 LC classes: **86.1%** 10 LC classes: **89.0%**

combined classes : vineyards cultivated and managed areas moors and Heathland herbaceous vegetation marshes peatbogs



S2GLC – Sentinel-2 Global Land Cover



S /

Polska Agencja Kosmiczna



https://s2glc.cbk.waw.pl/

geoportal.gov.pl

200 Km



LAND COVER CLASSIFICATION OF POLAND USING S2GLC APPROACH





classification is performed every year since 2019,

a unique set of data illustrating land cover throughout the country is available free of charge (hundreds of thousands of downloads).

Year	2019	2020	2021	2022	2023
Validation points	10 597	11 860	13 080	17701	In progres
OverAll accuracy	87.2 %	79.9 %	84.3 %	85.6%	in progres



examples of land cover classification

construction of an expressway

2019

2020





2022

esa







examples of land cover classification



artificial islands in the Szczecin reservoir

2020

2021







Change Detection dedicated to S2GLC classification approach



2020

2019 – 2020 CD S2GLC

. 4



CONCLUSION

- The results of the ESA S2GLC project are put to practical use;
- Land Cover classification of Poland is performed every year;
- Change Detection of LC will be implemented in the coming year.





LAND COVER CLASSIFICATION OF POLAND PERFORMED EVERY YEAR BASED ON SENTINEL-2

Stanisław Lewiński

stlewinski@cbk.waw.pl

Marek Ruciński, Ewa Gromny, Cezary Wojtkowski, Szymon Sala, Małgorzata Jenerowicz-Sanikowska, Michał Krupiński

